Manchester United’s Scott McTominay thought that he had given Scotland the lead in Seville after an excellent free kick. The midfielder’s cross/shot evaded everyone and nestled in the far corner despite the acutely angle.
However, after the Scotland team had returned to their half following their celebrations, the referee indicated he would be checking with VAR.
What could be possibly have been told by his VAR official that merited the visit to the monitor? It was no clearer when they checked the footage. Jack Hendry stands his ground but doesn’t foul the goalkeeper.
🏴 Scott McTominay thought he scored an absolute worldie…
— Viaplay Sports UK (@ViaplaySportsUK) October 12, 2023
Inexplicably, the referee ruled the goal out. The match is now 1-0 after Morata scored but Scotland will feel very hard done by.
UEFA initially indicated, as confirmed by commentary, that it was a foul but later in the game, it was suggested that it was offside. Was Hendry influencing play? Did he impede the goalkeeper? Nope. A shocking decision whatever way you look at it.