Conclusive proof of contact as Ajeti charged with diving

Albian Ajeti was cited for simulation today for his part in winning a penalty against Kilmarnock on Tuesday night. The Swiss International, a £5m arrival from West Ham, chased the ball away from goal when Kevin Clancy adjudged Doyle to have tripped him.

Odsonne Edouard stepped up and doubled Celtic’s lead. However, following the game, The SFA confirmed that Ajeti would be offered a two-game ban

Ajeti’s heel is hit by Doyle’s hand, it is soft but it is still a penalty. The use of retrospective action is quite bizarre considering that you can clearly see contact impacting his left ankle. Celtic should appeal immediately, given the fact that there is obvious contact but also because accepting this punishment opens a can of worms. You can be punished for being fouled? But if you are given a yellow card for a reckless challenge you may not have this upgraded.

Incidents like this showcase why VAR should be considered in the Scottish game, if there is a doubt about whether there is contact – allow the referee to check it. But in hindsight, you can clearly see that Ajeti is clipped.

About Author

Born just as Celtic were stopping the Ten, Lubo98 follows Celtic home and away and helps run his local Celtic Supporters Club. He goes to all the games and is a Law Graduate. Has a particular fondness for Tom Rogic among the current Celts and both Lubo and Henrik form his earliest Celtic memories.


  1. VAR is no answer. Imagine three ex Lanarkshire refs sitting behind a tv screen when Celtic playing, is it a goal? Is he offside? No, of course not, see you down the ludge later.

  2. Absolutely its a pen no doubt typical of the football authorities in this country haven’t a clue