Easter Road set for title party as SPFL give Celtic a post split away day

CELTIC will be sent to Easter Road to face Hibs in the first match after the split, with an official announcement expected in the morning.

The second fixture will be against Rangers at Celtic Park so if Celtic fail to win in Edinburgh then the title can be won against the Ibrox side the following week.

Celtic were expected to open the post split fixtures with a home tie as they have three homes games and two away – to Hibs and Hearts. The visit to Tynecastle will be the only midweek fixture post split.

The visitors to Celtic Park will be Rangers followed by Kilmarnock and then Aberdeen for Trophy Day.

Celtic wrapped up 6 in a row in Edinburgh with a thumping 5-0 win at Tynecastle last April. Now they have a chance to win the Magnificent 7th title across the capital at Easter Road.

Once again the Celtic season ticket holders will be denied the chance to see the team wrap up the title, although Neil Lennon will be keen to ensure that they get the chance a week later.

Brendan Rodgers called for Scottish football to showcase our game by playing the Rangers game that weekend, although that suggestion wasn’t universally supported – see here.

It was thought that Aberdeen – the second force in Scottish football – would have been the visitors to Celtic Park in the weekend after the Cup semi-finals but the SPFL, after conversations with the broadcasters and Police Scotland, are going to send Celtic on another league winning away day.

Celtic drew 2-2 at Easter Road in December after throwing away a 2-0 lead. Hibs almost grabbed a winner before Scotty Sinclair had a great chance to win it for Celtic.

About Author

The Celtic Star founder and editor, who has edited numerous Celtic books over the past decade or so including several from Lisbon Lions, Willie Wallace, Tommy Gemmell and Jim Craig. Earliest Celtic memories include a win over East Fife at Celtic Park and the 4-1 League Cup loss to Partick Thistle as a 6 year old. Best game? Easy 4-2, 1979 when Ten Men Won the League. Email editor@thecelticstar.co.uk

Comments are closed.