Referee misses outrageous red card offence on Scott Brown

Scott Brown had his hands on the Scottish Cup trophy earlier this evening as Celtic completed a Quadruple Treble with a penalty win over Hearts. With a topsy-turvy encounter between the two sides, it would be easy to forget a flash point in the first half – especially when there were so many key moments in the frantic cup final.

Brown was involved in an altercation with Hearts captain Steven Naismith, the former Rangers attacker looked to stamp down on Brown’s knee after a coming together between the pair but it was missed by referee John Beaton.

The ball clearly goes to the other side but Naismith goes back across Brown, making sure that his studs made contact with the player on the ground. It is a marvel that no official managed to spot the incident but hopefully there will be now, and this kind of thing is eradicated from the game.

If the Compliance Officer does anything tomorrow, it should be citing Naismith for this incident in which he clearly tries to harm the Celtic captain. Brown enjoyed the celebrations for Celtic’s third goal and he got his point across that he would be lifting the trophy and not Naismith at full-time.

Brown is getting pelters from Hearts fans for being a winner, Naismith’s thuggery didn’t win the day and for the second year in a row he leaves Hampden a loser.

About Author

Born just as Celtic were stopping the Ten, Lubo98 follows Celtic home and away and helps run his local Celtic Supporters Club. He goes to all the games and is a Law Graduate. Has a particular fondness for Tom Rogic among the current Celts and both Lubo and Henrik form his earliest Celtic memories.

1 Comment